Monthly Archives: September 2014

Directorship of WHO Collaborating Centre

Candace Currie is Director of a newly designated WHO Collaborating Centre (WHOCC) in Child and Adolescent Health Policy at the School of Medicine (2013-2017) with co-directors Gerry Humphris and Peter Donnelly; and has been recently been awarded CSO funding to participate in the Global Early Adolescent Study (GEAS) coordinated from Johns Hopkins School of Public Health and running in 10 cities around the globe. The focus is on understanding gender socialisation and sexual health among young people growing up in deprived communities. These initiatives have led to two new appointments – Dr Juliet McEachran, part-time Research Coordinator for GEAS’s Scottish site, and Ms Aixa Aleman-Diaz, Policy Adviser for the WHOCC.

Awarded PhD studentship

Dr Ozakinci was awarded a PhD studentship by the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science. Rachel Nutt has been selected to receive this studentship which will focus on cardiac rehabilitation among working age men and women. Dr Ozakinci has also been invited and participated in the first Innovation workshop held by Cancer Research UK and BUPA on cancer prevention in harder to reach groups.

Athena SWAN awards

Congratulations to the Schools of Chemistry, Mathematics & Statistics and Psychology & Neuroscience for winning Athena SWAN awards.

School of Chemistry: Silver Award

School of Mathematics & Statistics: Bronze Award

School of Psychology & Neuroscience: Bronze Award

Appointment to BBSRC Pool of Experts

V Anne Smith has been appointed to the BBSRC’s Pool of Experts.  The initial appointment is for one year, with an expectation of continuation for up to three years.  During this time, she will be called to sit upon any of Committees A-D to complement the Committee’s core members, where she will contribute with her expertise on computational biology, animal behaviour and neuroscience, and synthetic biology.

Tripartite Prize for Geography/Mathematics student

Congratulations to Christine McKenna (recently graduated in BSc Geography/Mathematics) for her award of the Tripartite Prize (sponsored by the Challenger Society for Marine Science, the Institute of Marine Engineering Science and Technology and the Society for Underwater Technology) for the best undergraduate final-year dissertation in Marine Science in the UK in 2014. Christine used a novel computer model to model water mass mixing in the Faroe-Shetland Channel, which is an integral gateway in the present operation of the global thermohaline circulation.

Industrial visit to Norway

Dr Upulani Somisara (postdoctoral research fellow in Chemistry) took part in an industrial visit to Norway for Scottish delegates, representing the University of St Andrews, EaStCHEM and the EU-funded SuBiCat International Training Network. One of the main aims was to visit the world’s most advanced bio-refinery and explore the feasibility of the same concept in Scotland.

Election to RSE Young Academy of Scotland

Silvia Paracchini was elected a member of the RSE Young Academy of Scotland in the 2014 round. The RSE Young Academy of Scotland fosters interdisciplinary activities among emerging leaders from the disciplines of science and humanities, the professions, the arts, business and civil society. Silvia has engaged immediately with the Academy joining the ‘Research The Headlines’ working group, which aims to analyse how science is reported in the media. This is Silvia’s first blogpost discussing the science behind an hypothetical kit for suicide diagnosis.

Frotscher Prize for Helping Hands

Congratulations to Prof Sharon Ashbrook (Chemistry) for winning the 2014 Frotscher Medal for Helping Hands. The award recognises exceptional support to students by a staff member or another student. The prize has been established by the family of two St Andrews students in gratitude and recognition of the support those students received at St Andrews.

Three poster prizes for PhD student

Congratulations to Paula Sanz Camacho (second-year PhD student in Prof Sharon Ashbrook’s group, Chemistry), who was awarded poster prizes at the Annual Meeting of the St Andrews Centre for Magnetic Resonance (St Andrews, 2 June 2014), the Rocky Mountains Conference on Magnetic Resonance (Copper Mountain, Colorado, 13-17 July 2014) and at the International SMARTER 4 Meeting on NMR Crystallography (Durham, 1-4 September 2014).