School of Biology Committees

Information about Committees in the School of Biology

Public Engagement and Recruitment Committee

Convenor: Dr Ildiko Somorjai
Minutes: Public Engagement and Recruitment Committee

The remit of the Biology External Relations Committee is:

We aim to promote and enhance the School of Biology's reputation and relationship with students, staff, funding bodies, the media, government, and the wider public and business communities.

The committee is currently working to identify improvements that can be made to the School's interaction with the wider public. We have begun consulting on a range of topics including the School's web presence, outreach activities, the Bell Pettigrew Museum, and visiting days.

Questions regarding school outreach, summer school programmes, School of Biology activities, or any other link with our broader community in Fife and beyond, can be sent to

A small amount of funding is available to support Biology outreach activities. Further information and an online application form can be found here: funding application

Public web content with details of public engagement at the School of Biology is maintained at

Committee Members

click for profile
description email
click to mail
Dr Verena Dietrich-Bischoff Teaching Fellow 01334 464812
Dr Dave Ferrier Reader in Biology and Deputy Director of the Scottish Oceans Institute 01334 463480
Dr Tracey Gloster Lecturer 01334 467245
Dr Catriona Harris Research Fellow 01334 461831
Dr Mark Johnson Senior Research Fellow 01334 462624
Dr Stuart MacNeill SULSA Reader in Translational Biology 01334 467268
Dr Iain Matthews Senior Teaching Fellow & Pro-Dean for the Faculty of Science 01334 463004
Donna Pierz-Fennell School Manager 01334 463626
Prof Christian Rutz Professor of Biology 01334 463340
Mr Steve Smart Information Designer 01334 463545
Dr Ildiko Somorjai Senior Lecturer MASTS 01334 463628

edit committee details