School of Biology Committees

Information about Committees in the School of Biology

Biology Postgraduate Teaching Committee

Convenor: Dr Sonja Heinrich
Minutes: Biology Postgraduate Teaching Committee

The Postgraduate Teaching Committee meets at least once per semester to discuss issues pertaining to the postgraduate progammes (including PG Certificates, PG Diplomas, and MSc degrees) in the School of Biology.

For the MSc Degree
(With reference to the University Administrative Checklist for Co-ordinators of Taught Postgraduate Programmes)

  • To ensure that applicants for the MSc degree are advised of requirements, that a suitable programme of modules is agreed, and that clear and accurate information is available to students at matriculation.
  • To report any changes to modular programmes to the Faculty Postgraduate Office.
  • To report results following examination diets to the Faculty Postgraduate Office according to the specified timetable.
  • To ensure that appropriate arrangements are in place for choosing dissertation topics and for supervising dissertations.
  • To ensure that students submit their dissertations by the specified deadline, and that examination arrangements for these are completed within one month of submission.
  • To implement procedures for allowing students to progress to dissertation.

Katrina Gatherum
Post-Graduate Taught programmes Administrator

Dr Neil Hazon
Sustainable Aquaculture

Dr Sonja Heinrich
Director of Post-Graduate Taught programmes
Postgraduate Teaching Committee Chair

Dr Iain Matthews
External Relations
Marine Ecosystems Management

Dr Gerald Prescott
Director of Teaching

Dr Luke Rendell
Marine Mammal Science

Committee Members

click for profile
description email
click to mail
Mrs Katrina Gatherum Secretary SOI & Postgraduate Taught Administrator 01334 463441
Dr Neil Hazon Reader 01334 463451/3452/3447
Dr Sonja Heinrich Senior Lecturer & Director of Postgraduate Teaching 01334 462628
Dr Iain Matthews Senior Teaching Fellow & Pro-Dean for the Faculty of Science 01334 463004
Dr Gerald Prescott Senior Lecturer 01334 463562
Dr Luke Rendell MASTS Reader in Biology 01334 463499

edit committee details