School of Biology Committees

Information about Committees in the School of Biology

Biology Teaching Committee

Convenor: Dr Iain Matthews
Minutes: Biology Teaching Committee

The Biology Teaching Committee is a decision-making sub-committee of the staff council responsible for all matters relating to teaching. It is responsible for overseeing course development and the curriculum for all the years, ensuring that the syllabus meets good QAA practice, and deciding the overall plan of modules and progression through these academic levels. The Teaching Committee reviews examination and other assessment procedures, and is responsible for the approval and proof-reading of the Schools Audit report and entries in the University Course Catalogue and prospectus.

Committee Membership roles:
Director of Teaching, Convenor of Teaching Committee: Dr Iain Matthews
Head of School: Prof Frank Gunn-Moore

Behavioral Biology, Ecology and Conservation, Evolutionary Biology and Zoology degree controller: Prof Sue Healy
Biology degree controller: Dr Dave Shuker
Cell Biology degree controller: Dr Judith Sleeman
Deputy Director of Teaching and Biochemistry and MBiochem degree controller: Dr Jacqueline Nairn
Director of Post-Graduate Taught programmes: Dr Sonja Heinrich
Examinations Officer and Pre-Honours adviser: Dr Verena Dietrich-Bischoff
4000-level Coordinator and Pre-Honours adviser: Dr Anne Smith
Joint degrees, degree controller: Dr Mike Webster
Marine Biology degree controller: Dr Lars Boehme
MMarBiol degree controller: Dr Simon Northridge
Molecular Biology degree controller: Dr Stuart MacNeill
School President: Ms Erin Phillips
Study Abroad adviser and MBiol adviser: Dr Iain Matthews
Teaching Administrator: Mr Andy Cole

Committee Members

click for profile
description email
click to mail
Dr Lars Boehme Reader 01334 462677
Dr Verena Dietrich-Bischoff Lecturer (Education-Focused) 01334 464812
Prof Frank Gunn-Moore Professor of Molecular Neurobiology, Head of School 01334 463525
Prof Susan Healy Professor / Director of Centre for Biological Diversity 01334 462065
Dr Sonja Heinrich Senior Lecturer & Director of Postgraduate Teaching 01334 462628
Dr Stuart MacNeill SULSA Reader in Translational Biology 01334 467268
Dr Iain Matthews Senior Teaching Fellow & Pro-Dean for the Faculty of Science 01334 463004
Dr Jacqueline Nairn Senior Lecturer 01334 463604
Dr Simon Northridge Senior Lecturer 01334 462654
Dr Gerald Prescott Senior Lecturer 01334 463562
Dr David Shuker Senior Lecturer in Behavioural Ecology 01334 463376
Dr Judith Sleeman Senior Lecturer in Cell and Developmental Biology 01334 463524
Dr V Anne Smith Senior Lecturer 01334 463368
Dr Ildiko Somorjai Senior Lecturer MASTS 01334 463628
Dr Mike Webster Lecturer in Behavioural and Evolutionary Biology 01334 461690

edit committee details