School of Biology Committees

Information about Committees in the School of Biology

Biology Ethics Committee

Convenors: Prof Patrick Miller (Animal Ethics), Dr Luke Rendell (Human Ethics)
Minutes: Biology Ethics Committee

The School Ethics Committee (SEC) reviews research and teaching activities involving human subjects under the auspices of the University Teaching and Research Ethics Committee (UTREC). The SEC also reviews non-licensed animal research involving nonhuman vertebrates and cephalopods.


  • Advise members of the School of Biology on ethical issues which affect them in the process of designing and conducting research
  • Advise members of the School of Biology on current best practice with respect to the treatment of animals used in research and teaching
  • Ethically review ethics applications submitted and assess and approve them or pass them on to the university AWEC (Animal Welfare and Ethics Committee) for further consideration

Ethics applications

Deadline for submitting applications falls on the last day of each month with the meeting held in the second week of the month.

Committee Members

click for profile
description email
click to mail
Miss Lianne Baker Administrator 01334 463369
Dr Neil Hazon Reader 01334 463451/3452/3447
Prof Patrick Miller Professor 01334 463554
Dr Luke Rendell MASTS Reader in Biology 01334 463499
Prof Graeme Ruxton Professor 01334 464825
Dr Sonja Vernes UKRI Fellow

edit committee details